Indian Cricket Team for ICC Champions Trophy 2017 | Here’s The Full List

The BCCI has prepared 15 member squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017 named as the Indian Cricket Team that will play in the England and Wales from June 1.

ICC Champions Trophy India squad has only two cricketers making a come back namely, Mohammed Shami and Rohit Sharma. There were not much surprises thrown into the list of 15 squad members that BCCI named yesterday.

The ICC Trophy 2017 – Indian Team Players

Except for the return of Mohammed Shami and Rohit Sharma the 15 member ICC Champions Trophy squad 2017 will not have any new faces in it. Here is a full player list that will comprise the Indian cricket team for ICC Champions 2017:

  • Virat Kohli (captain)
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • Mahendra Singh Dhonwicket-keeper)
  • Yuvraj Singh
  • Kedar Jadhav
  • Hardik Pandey
  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Umesh Jadav
  • Bhuvaneshwar Kumar
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Manish Pandey

Players who will be on stand-by in the Indian cricket team for ICC Champions Trophy 2017 are:

  • Rishabh Pant
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Shardul Thakur
  • Suresh Raina
  • Dinesh Kartik

The team was selected by a panel of team selectors led by MSK Prasad. Shockingly, one of the most dedicated players of Indian cricket team, Gautam Ghambir has not been placed on the list of Indian squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017. This has disappointed many of his fans who have flooded social media with messages like “Bring Gauti Back”.

The Come Back in Indian Squad for ICC Champions Trophy

Rohit Sharma will be replacing KL Rahul and this will be Rohit’s first international game since October after recovering from a thigh injury.

While Mohammed Shami has not been active on the ODI front since 2015 Worl Cup semi- final. Selectors have shown full faith in Shami during Indian team formation for ICC Champions Trophy 2017 as he had played fairly well in the Internationals even after a long gap. Amit Mishra has been replaced by Shami.

The ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Tournament

The BCCI was previously was not in favour of sending the Indian Cricket Team to play in ICC this year. But on the strong urge of Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators the board had to come up with the names of 15 players unanimously.

The tournament of ICC Champions trophy 2017 featuring eight teams will be played from June 1 to June 18. India will open against arch-rivals Pakistan on June 4.

The selection committee has full faith in the newly formed Indian squad as four years ago the Indian team lead by MS Dhoni brought the ICC Trophy home beating hosts England.

Source- NDTV Sports, TOI


Shivali Angurala

An Illustrator by profession and a writer by chance. Shivali's love for the city beautiful brought her to work as an author for Chandigarh Metro. Writing is something that she believe is as impactful as Art. She loves to mix up colors as much as she love mixing interesting adjectives in her writings. You may reach Shivali at
Back to top button