IPL 2018: Ricky Ponting Appointed as the Head Coach of Delhi Daredevils

Ricky Ponting, the previous Australian captain, has been named as the new head mentor of Delhi Daredevils for the upcoming IPL 2018 season, the establishment affirmed on Thursday. The outstanding cricketer, who amassed more than 13000 runs in the Tests format and ODIs, will assume control over the mantle of instructing the side from Paddy Upton, with whom the establishment went separate ways a year ago after the finish of his two-year contract.

Ricky Ponting – New Head Coach of Delhi DareDevils Takes Position of Rahul Dravid

In 2013, Ricky Ponting was sold to Mumbai Indians and selected as captain of the team. He was along these lines named as the captain yet picked to leave mid-route into the competition as he could just indent up an unimportant 52 runs from six matches.Rohit Sharma assumed control as the captain of the side and steered the establishment to a title win. Mumbai Indians at that point chose to hold Ponting in an advisory limit with respect to the accompanying season.  In 2015 IPL season, Ricky Ponting coached Mumbai Indians and bring the second IPL title. In 2016 his contract expired with the team and he decided not to continue in that position.

Earlier Coach of Delhi Daredevils was Rahul Dravid. Rahul Dravid served DD for last 2 seasons. But this time the former Indian Captain walked away due to BCCI conflict. Rahul Dravid will continue as a coach for India A and the Under 19 team of India.

IPL 2018 Player Retention, Auction on January 27 & 28

During the IPL 2018 Retention held yesterday, 18 players make their way to the teams of IPL 2018. Delhi Daredevils retains Shreyas Iyer, Rishab Pant, Chris Morris. Rajasthan Royals retains Steve Smith. Kings XI Punjab retains Axar Patel. Sunrisers Hyderabad retains David Warner, Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Kolkata Knight Riders retain Sunil Narine, Andre Russell. Royal Challengers Bangalore retains Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan. Chennai Super Kings retains MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja and Mumbai Indians retains Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah.

Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals are entering the IPL 2018 once again. The rest of the auction will occur on January 27 and January 28.

Source – Cricbuzz



A believer in 'less talk and more work', Sushant is a geek and gadget freak. A content analyst, strategist, graphic designer and a blogger. To follow his posts and stay updated, you can reach him at hello@chandigarhmetro.com
Back to top button