UGC Terms 24 Indian Universities as Fake | Here’s The Complete List

Recently,  the University Grants Commission (UGC) has released a list of 24 fake universities that are operational pan India. These fake universities are neither deemed nor recognized university by the UGC and termed as ‘self-styled’. The list of these ‘self-styled’ fake universities shows that they are functioning across India out of Delhi alone has eight of them.

Notice issued by UGC warning students about 24 fake universities

The fake universities list is announced by UGC in public interest so that no students, their parents and the teachers employed there can be fooled. All these 24 universities are non-recognized by University Grants Commission and are not entitled to confer any degrees. A notice regarding the same has been issued by the commission warning students for not taking admission in these 24 ‘self-styled’ fake universities. Other than students even faculty are not guaranteed to receive a salary package fixed under UGC guidelines following the seventh pay commission.

‘Fake’ listed 24 Indian universities by UGC

There is a large number of fake universities that are operational in Delhi, Kanpur, Allahabad, Aligarh, Kanpur, Mathura of Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Rourkela of Odisha, Kerala, Karnataka, Nagpur, Pondicherry and in other parts of India.

As published on, the list of 24 fake universities released by University Grants Commission (UGC) includes- Maithili University/Vishwavidyalaya, Darbhanga, Bihar, Vocational University, Delhi, Commercial University Ltd., Daryaganj, Delhi, United Nations University, Delhi, Indian Institution of Science and Engineering, New Delhi, ADR-Centric Juridical University, Rajendra Place, New Delhi, BadaganviSarkar World Open University Education Society, Belgaum (Karnataka), Viswakarma Open University for Self-employment, New Delhi, Raja Arabic University, Nagpur, Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya (Spiritual University), Delhi, Kerala’s St. John’s University, Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine, Kolkata, Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Varanasi, UP/Jagatpuri, Delhi, Institute of Alternative Medicine and Research, Kolkata, Mahila Gram Vidyapith/Vishwavidyalaya, (Women’s University) Prayag, Allahabad ( UP ), Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya, KosiKalan, Mathura (UP), Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith, Prayag, Allahabad (UP), Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad, Noida (UP), National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur, Maharana Partap Shiksha NiketanVishwavidyalaya, Pratapgarh (UP), Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (Open University), Aligarh, (UP), Nababharat Shiksha Parishad, Rourkela, Sree Bodhi Academy of Higher Education, Pondicherry and North Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology, Odisha.

It is advised that before taking admission in any of these universities, students should understand that these universities are not recognized by UGC (University Grants Commission) of India.


Yamini S. Verma

A dreamer and a go-getter, this is how she defines herself. With seven- plus years of experience in Journalism, Yamini has worked with various publications in print and online. With an inclination towards photography, she dreams to go on around the world tour someday and capture the beauty of nature through her lens. You can write to her at
Back to top button