Chandigarh To Host The First Ever “World Hockey Awards” Ceremony

The city beautiful, Chandigarh has been chosen to host the very first International Hockey Federation award ceremony. For the very first time of the history of sports award, the player, goalkeepers, umpires, coaches and rising stars will be facilitated for their work in the field of Hockey. The ceremony has been organised in a five star hotel of Chandigarh ‘The Lalit’ on 23rd February 2017. The FIH, in partnership with the Hockey India is all set to announce the winners of the awards on the ‘Hockey Stars Awards 2016’.

Highlights of the ceremony

The prestigious award ceremony will not only honour the players, umpires and all others associated with Hockey, but will also showcase the journey of the players, who have been an idol for all the hockey lovers. It’s not just an award ceremony, but the initiative will also motivate many others to pursue Hockey as sports.

  • Some past key Hockey events like Hockey Champions trophies, Junior World Cups and much more will be shown.
  • The players will be shown at their best.
  • India’s Got Talent participant Papai and Antara will be performing in the ceremony.
  • People can watch the live award ceremony on the FIH’s Youtube channel.

These awards will also motivate and generate more followers for Hockey. This event will also bring the great hockey stars under one roof in Chandigarh at the same time.

Awards and the nominations

  • FIH Player of the Year

Women- Carla Rebecchi (ARG), Alex Danson (GBR), Naomi van As (NED), Stacey Michelsen (NZL), Kate Richarson- Walsh (GBR).

Men- John- John Dohmen (BEL), Pedro Ibarra (ARG), Gonzalo Peillat (ARG), Tobias Hauke (GER), Moritz Furste (GER).

  • FIH Goalkeeper of the Year

Women- Jackie Briggs (USA), Joyce Sombroek (NED), Belen Succi (IRL), Maddie Hinch (GBR), Kristina Reynolds (GER).

Men- Vincent Vanasch (BEL), Juan Vivaldi (ARG), David Harte (IRL), Jaap Stockmann (NED), Parattu Raveendran Sreejesh (IND).

  • FIH Rising Star of the Year (Players under 23)

Women- Nike Lorenz (GER), Florencia Habif (ARG), Lily Owsley (GBR), Kathryn Slattery (AUS), Maria Grantto (ARG).

Men- Jorrit Croon (NED), Christopher Ruhr (GER), Harmanpreet Singh (IND), Timm Herzbrunch (GER), Arthur van Doren (BEL).

  • FIH Coach of the Year

Women- Karen Brown (GBR), Alyson Annan (AUS), Janneke Schopman (USA).

Men- Danny Kerry (GBR), Carlos Retegui (ARG), Shane McLeod (NZL).

Chandigarh has got a hockey stadium in Sector 42 and these hockey awards happening in Chandigarh will surely promote the sport in the city.


Gurjit Kaur

Gurjit Kaur is a young and vibrant writer, who is passionate about media. Having done her MBA in media management, Gurjit loves to weave words in simple yet an elegant form. Her love for Chandigarh and the belief that "content is king" makes her an author on Chandigarh Metro. You may reach Gurjit at
Back to top button