Poonam Sharma (Cong) elected as the new mayor of Chandigarh

Congress candidate Poonam Sharma has been elected as the new Mayor of city Chandigarh in the municipal corporation mayor elections held in Chandigarh on 6th Jan, 2015. She defeated the BJP candidate Heera Negi by a margin of 2 votes. This is the 8th time in a row that Mayor elections in Chandigarh have been won by Congress.

Member of Parliament from Chandigarh – Kirron Kher was a bit sad due to the results. There were total 35 votes out of which 33 votes were polled. Here is a breakdown of the polled votes.

Total Votes = 35

Votes Polled = 33

Absent members = 2

Poonam Sharma (Cong) = 17 votes

Heera Negi (BJP) = 15 votes

Invalid Vote = 1

The Senior Deputy Mayor post was bagged by BJP candidate Rajesh Gupta and the Deputy Mayor post went to Congress candidate Gurbax Rawat.

Poonam Sharma, the new Mayor of Chandigarh is an advocate and a social worker. Rajesh Gupta is a businessman who has a second hand car business in sector 7. Gurbax Rawat is an IT professional who is working as a team lead with an IT company in Chandigarh IT Park. The trio after been elected for their respective posts said that they’ll work together as a team for the betterment of Chandigarh and will work hard to complete the pending projects of the city.

Image Credits: Keshav Singh, Hindustan Times.


Ajay Deep

Ajay Deep is a young enthusiast who Loves Chandigarh and is always eager to make this beautiful city even more beautiful. A Mechanical Engineer By Chance and Working in an IT MNC by Choice. A Writer, Photographer and a Budding Entrepreneur. A Designer, Developer and Digital Marketing Expert. In brief : A Jack of All Trades and Master of Few :) You may reach Ajay Deep at ajay@chandigarhmetro.com
Back to top button